Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/3/2024 4:12:06 PM EDT
Looking to dip my toe into thermal.  The AGM StingIR-640 looks like a pretty interesting option as it can be weapon mounted (up to 5.56), helmet mounted, and be used as a handheld.  It's 640 resolution, relatively inexpensive.  I'm not a pro coyote hunter or anything like that, just looking to add capability.  Anyone have any direct experience, good or bad?  It says they are HQ'd in AZ and also Bulguria?  So at least maybe not china?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 3/3/2024 4:54:37 PM EDT
[#1]
To the best of my knowledge, they use Chinese Iray cores, which are excellent, but yes still Chinese.

They are ultra lightweight and pretty feature rich for the money. I enjoyed my 384 res unit and really don’t have much negative to say about it.
Link Posted: 3/3/2024 6:50:32 PM EDT
[#2]
Thanks!  I figured some China was in it
Link Posted: 3/4/2024 9:13:18 AM EDT
[Last Edit: KC-ROUGHNECK] [#3]
HOP has a pretty decent You-tube review on it. I think his summary was it’s a pretty good do all unit. Spring for the 640 if you plan to use it as a clip on in front of a scope. If the main use is helmet mounted the 384?is good enough.

In for info. This is the unit I’m looking at for my first thermal.  

Link Posted: 3/4/2024 4:46:31 PM EDT
[Last Edit: RRAR15] [#4]
I have one on order that should be here in about a week. I found mine NIB for ~$3200 OTD and for that price, it was $2,300 less than the RH25, which is its only other real competitor. I’m sure the RH25 has better image quality (though from what I hear, the StingIR 640 is about 90% as good as the RH25), and the recoil rating is significantly higher, but I plan on using mine on my subsonic 300BLK, so that didn’t really matter to me.  The price difference to me made it very attractive.
Link Posted: 3/5/2024 7:34:54 AM EDT
[Last Edit: jd2395] [#5]