Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/28/2021 6:16:30 PM EDT
A buddy and I are thinking of getting into shotgun reloading. My understanding is that minishells won't cycle a semi auto because they are not powerful enough.

I have a feeling I know the answer but, is there a way to load a minishell with enough powder or the right powder to cycle a semiauto? I don't know if adding enough powder to cycle it would go above safe limits.

Go easy on me guys, I am new to reloading. I have a reloading press for handgun/rifle but, have not used it yet.
Link Posted: 4/28/2021 7:31:27 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 4/28/2021 8:16:18 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Why mini shells? I have a bunch of them and wanted to see if they were a viable reloading option since you can put more shells in the shotgun.  I couldn't find wads with a quick search, that means experimenting by trimming or loading with cardboard wads and roll crimps.

If you have found load data, point me that way, I'm curious. I don't have any load data. This post was more about if it could be done. If people have tried and no one has succeeded then I would not bother trying until I have a good grasp on reloading. I don't want to try anything dangerous.

My opinion is that you should load conventional ammunition  first and master that process first. That was the plan, this was more for down the line. Gas operated guns generally require a minimum volume of gas to function, maybe a mini shells will work, maybe not.

A few days back someone asked about trimming cases to make mini shells.  I skipped over that one, but if I were to try it, I would scare up straight wall hulls to get a better shot at forming a folded crimp. I have a few boxes of mini shells I have not shot yet. If I were game to try this at some point, I would pick up the hulls at the range and store them to try later.
View Quote