Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/17/2020 7:57:55 PM EDT
Is there any specific load recipes that are optimized for shorter barrels? I'm looking to develop some loads for an AR pistol with a 10.5 barrel which will be used for home defense. My initial thought was 60-65 grain frangibles loaded on the hotter end of the spectrum but I'm new to shorter barrels so educate me.
Link Posted: 2/17/2020 8:20:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Faster burning powder for shorter barrels.
Link Posted: 2/17/2020 8:24:04 PM EDT
[#2]
Someone i don't remember who did a test recently using quickload and chronographing some test loads.

There was a minimal~ optimization with some powders iirc but it was extremely minimal.

I load as hot / fast as i can while still obtaining acceptable to me accuracy. We have quite a few 10.5" and a couple 11.5" guns.

55 grain loads produce plenty acceptable velocity to get bullet performance for anything i want to shoot with a bullet in that weight range.

77 grain loads you can expect around 125~ yrds to be the max for dependable bullet expansion while still producing 1~1.25 moa groups with something like a nosler cc out of a 10.5" gun (hopefully gold dot's too i haven't tested this)

That's loading at 5.56 velocities ~
Link Posted: 2/17/2020 9:50:19 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 2/17/2020 11:24:54 PM EDT
[#4]
I had the same thought when I got into an AR pistol in 223. Faster powders to reduce flash and blast. Problem with the faster powders is reliable function.

If your in a state that allows suppressors, that would be more rewarding than experimenting to optimize a 223 round in a short barrel. The end result will be a minimal payback on your expenditure of time.