Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/22/2018 6:10:03 PM EDT
Hi all,

I recently found a Polytech "side stamped" M14S with the faux flash hider/bayo lug ground down at a local gun shop. I looked it over and it seems to be in nice, originalcondition. What I thought was interesting was that the rear sight knobs were "WCE" marked, like the ones on my Garand, so unsure if that was put on by the previous owner or if they came from the factory in China like that. Needless to say, they want $899 for the rifle, one mag, and sling. I'm on the fence and would like to hear y'alls opinions since, minus some recent internet research, I'm pretty new to the M1A/M14 world.
Link Posted: 7/22/2018 7:16:17 PM EDT
[#1]
If I remember correctly they could be turned into serviceable rifles, and many  did because it was economical to do so. I think the "problem" with them was some soft metal and bedding issues.
Link Posted: 7/22/2018 7:23:27 PM EDT
[#2]
I'd say it's a reasonable price. Polytechs have a hammer forged receiver that makes a good host (for a reputable shop that's done it before) to put a usgi bolt and barrel on. The M14S I once had didn't have a WCE marked sight so your guess as good as mine.
Link Posted: 7/22/2018 7:33:57 PM EDT
[#3]
Its a fair price. Usually you want to replace the bolt with a G.I. one for around $200 for just the bolt. I found a couple near me for $900 I passed on.
Its getting close to what you can buy a new Springfield for after the bolt and gun smithing if you factor all that in and then see how it shoots. I was afraid I would still need more work after that.
Link Posted: 7/23/2018 9:48:58 AM EDT
[#4]
I have one.  Solid rifle.  The bolt issue is grossly overblown.  The WCE sights are original Chinese and will probably need to be replaced.  Grafting a USGI flash-hider is doable though more expensive than you might think.