Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/12/2019 9:02:12 PM EDT
I'm relatively new to the NV scene and I'm still working on setting up my gear and optimizing it for NV use.  I have a PVS-14 and I've been mostly using it over my dominant eye.  I have an SBR with an Aimpoint T1 and I'm pretty happy with it for passive NV use.  I also have a 14.5" carbine and it's my main do-it-all rifle.  I currently have an IR laser on it but a LPVO for an optic.  I really like the LPVO for general use but it's pretty much useless through NODs as far as I can tell.  I don't want to sacrifice the utility of the LPVO but I'd like to have a good passive NV optic on the gun.  I've seen a lot of ACOGs with micro dots piggybacked onto them but I can't find much information on LPVO/micro dot combos, especially in regards to NV use.
Would this be a good solution for my setup?  Seems to me that the height of the micro dot would also be a benefit for NV use.  But being new at this I'm concerned that I'm missing something important.
Thanks.
Link Posted: 8/12/2019 9:17:39 PM EDT
[#1]
Choose a LPVO that has NV mode for their lowest red dot setting, set your magnification to 1-1.25 X and you should be gtg.
Link Posted: 8/12/2019 9:27:09 PM EDT
[#2]
I tried that with my current optic (Vortex Viper PST 1-4) and it didn't seem like it would work well to me.  The reticle is a crosshairs with a largish segmented circle around a dot in the middle.  It was just a huge blurry blob through the NV and eye relief felt pretty awkward due to the length of the tube.  It didn't seem like something that I could make work quickly or with any sort of precision in actual use.  I might go out and try some more if it's something that folks have been able to work with, though.  
I think I'd probably still prefer a RDS of some sort.  I sure like the way my Aimpoint works with the NV.
Link Posted: 8/12/2019 9:37:36 PM EDT
[#3]