Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/29/2023 9:25:57 AM EDT
I have a couple trade-in revolvers I'm working on that need to either be polished up or bead blasted. Leaning towards the bead blasting. I really like the nice satin finish of the CS-1's and that would be what I'm shooting for.

Has anyone here finished a stainless gun with glass beads? I'm really wondering if the 50# 80-grit bucket I have from HF is the right stuff, or if I'm going to need a finer crushed glass to get what I'm looking for. I plan on testing the handle area but thought I'd ask here in hopes of eliminating a bunch of trial and error.
Link Posted: 1/29/2023 9:50:34 AM EDT
[#1]
I will be following to see recommendations. I've got a GP100 I am considering this for, or cerakoted.
Link Posted: 1/29/2023 12:31:19 PM EDT
[#2]
No it’s not.
I am not an expert, but I’ve blasted several barrels to make them matte.  I bought some much finer grit from Brownells I think (it’s been years).  A coarse grit will make it sparkly.  If you want a flatter finish, get something over 120 I think. I bought some stainless fender washers and tested on those first.
Link Posted: 1/29/2023 2:34:29 PM EDT
[#3]
That’s kinda what I figured. The HF stuff isn’t really beads, it’s looks pretty jagged. I’ll try and find something finer.
Link Posted: 1/30/2023 8:50:36 AM EDT
[#4]
I hadn't even thought to check Brownells. 50# of 270+ grit for 93.50 + 12.50 to ship isn't too bad. I expected shipping to be much more. I'll probably give that a shot and report back. These are both $300 project revolvers that I was trying not to sink of bunch of cash into. Maybe I can find some more guns to shoot with the stuff...
Link Posted: 2/5/2023 11:11:38 AM EDT
[#5]
I would go for as fine of a grit as I could find.
I would also use smooth glass bead as opposed to a rough aluminum oxide (or other types of rough media)