Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/14/2018 4:46:58 PM EDT
Howdy all...

I'm new to the NV game but have already purchased a Trail XQ38 to get a thermal scope for hunting/playing around with the kids.

I want to get a PVS-14 next and am now researching lights/lasers and helmets.  I am trying to figure out the differences in the Steiner DBAL models.  I want to have a light/laser combo but not totally break the bank (so the MAWL is definitely out)

In simple terms, can you guys help me out with the main differences in the following:

A3
D2
I3

I have some Aimpoints that are NV compatible (M4 & PROs) so maybe I can get by with those and a good IR flashlight.  I'm not kicking doors and like I said, don't want to break the bank, but I do want quality gear that will cover the most bases.

Thanks for helping me steer in the right direction!
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 5:13:43 PM EDT
[#1]
A3 green laser, IR laser pointer, IR laser illuminator. No visible signature, but civilian version is limited to something around 150 meter depending on conditions.

I2 can be same as A3 except without the green laser or without the illuminator. Basically two beams not three. Can also be red.

D2 best civilian performance of the three, but has large visible signature due to LED based illuminator.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 5:17:17 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
A3 green laser, IR laser pointer, IR laser illuminator. No visible signature, but civilian version is limited to something around 150 meter depending on conditions.

I2 can be same as A3 except without the green laser or without the illuminator. Basically two beams not three. Can also be red.

D2 best civilian performance of the three, but has large visible signature due to LED based illuminator.
View Quote
D2 is also pretty big. I2 model 9007 is the sweet spot for cost/ features in my opinion.
Link Posted: 2/14/2018 6:02:19 PM EDT