Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Armory » M-16
Posted: 10/9/2023 9:35:40 AM EDT
I'm a newbie to transferable M16s. Would one day like to get a factory M16 gun, but I'm still learning the important details, pitfalls, etc. with the factory Colt M16s.

Anyway, can someone tell me what the likely story is with this gun:
https://www.davidspiwak.com/gun/colt-m16-factory-hybrid/

If I'm not mistaken, the IRS serial number means it is an amnesty gun, but it seems interesting that it is marked AR15 rather than M16. I wouldn't think a bring-back would be marked AR15. It looks like it does not have the oversized front receiver pin, so I suspect it might have actually been a factory gun. Any ideas of how the gun came to be?

A couple other newbie questions:
-how does someone identify a welded rewat? I've read that some of those supposedly are on the registry.
-why do the safety and the rear receiver pin have dimples in the ends? I haven't noticed that before, but it might just have been something I had always overlooked before I started paying attention to the granular details.
Link Posted: 10/9/2023 11:36:16 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 10/9/2023 3:06:43 PM EDT
[Last Edit: kingoftheriver] [#2]
I think some of the early M16 receivers were marked "AR15".
This could be one of them, as Colt never threw away any parts that were no longer used in their U.S. military contract guns.
Such parts would appear on later foreign sale guns as well as civilian guns, both full auto and semi auto.

Perhaps someone from the Retro Forum will pick up on this.
Some of those guys can tell you all about the generations and variations of pins, selectors, mag releases, bolt releases, furniture, rear sight wheel, etc.

EDIT: I put a link to this on the Retro Forum.

M16

RCA

Link Posted: 10/9/2023 3:34:48 PM EDT
[#3]