Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 3/1/2022 6:04:34 AM EDT
I've seen it mentioned briefly in the other M249S thread, but with many specifics. Same for the online results I've found- generic info only.

What is the specific issue/problem that the recall addresses?
What is being replaced/changed?
What is the impact/risk of not submitting one to the recall process?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 3/1/2022 10:09:38 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 3/2/2022 9:57:12 AM EDT
[#2]
Well, I have no first-hand knowledge; my M249S is just fine and I've had zero issues - but I've seen others suggest that the recall is a coercive effort to get purchasers to send in their M249S to FN so they can be modified to be much more difficult to convert to the FA version.
Link Posted: 3/4/2022 2:24:01 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Well, I have no first-hand knowledge; my M249S is just fine and I've had zero issues - but I've seen others suggest that the recall is a coercive effort to get purchasers to send in their M249S to FN so they can be modified to be much more difficult to convert to the FA version.
View Quote

This is my belief as well.

18Z50
Link Posted: 3/5/2022 11:37:56 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

18Z50
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:

18Z50

I'm not sure they would spend money on a recall for that.

The methods I know to convert them is either modify the full auto parts to fit the semi auto receiver, or modify the receiver to accept the full auto parts.

Both methods are already regulated.

If somebody's property is modified by FN, there should be some documentation of what work was performed.

The recall says it is a safety recall for replacement of parts.

It looks like the only part being replaced is the slide hammer.

This part.

https://www.midwestgunworks.com/page/mgwi/prod/56414

Does that require modifying the receiver?