Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/30/2018 9:24:42 PM EDT
I’ve loaded a ton of cases like .223/5.56, .243, .308, etc but never a belted bottleneck cartridge and nothing with such a different case/shoulder

Any advice for me and starting .257 Weatherby loading?
Link Posted: 7/30/2018 11:11:06 PM EDT
[#1]
Not really hard with a good set of dies and being extra careful.

I've been reloading it for about 10yrs now.I haven't had any issues yet.Rare buckled case now and then.1or 2 per 200rnds.Be sure to trim them.

I'll average about 40rnds per year for practice,Really deads whitetails
Link Posted: 7/31/2018 8:11:22 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 8/1/2018 11:17:57 AM EDT
[#3]
Same here, Im a belted mag noob as well, and the 257 is even a little more of a challenge due to the rounded shoulder.

Im fighting through a couple of issues with feeding and bolt closing right now.  Just not adding up...

Link to THR
Link Posted: 8/1/2018 12:45:38 PM EDT
[#4]
Would use a comparator to check how far out you can seat a bullet.  If a sized brass chambers with no effort, but adding a bullet keeps it from chambering, would check how long your free bore actually is.  When I used to deer hunt, used a 257 wby, and seated the Hdy 100 gn sp to 3.200.  Seated a Barnes 100 gn @ 3.285.

The Wby 100 gn sp factory loads were always more accurate than I could handload a bought 100 gn sp.  Then I measured the actual bullet diameters, and the factory bullet was larger dia.  Course this was 14 years ago. Used RL 22 and Fed mag primers almost exclusively.

Factory manuals for the wby's are all over the map, after lawsuit on supposedly factory overloaded 270 wby rounds (years ago).   Hornady dropped their load weights way down on the 257 and 270 wby loadings.
Link Posted: 8/1/2018 1:26:14 PM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: