Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Pistols
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/24/2021 8:05:24 PM EDT
Been away from guns for a while but coming back and heard good things about daniel defense. Theres 2 pistols im interested in but not sure which one to get.

DDM4 pdw 300blk
Or
Mk18

Looking for something to use as home defense, something fun to shoot and possibly take with me camping.

Please no rude comments. Im a born again newb and cant get advice from family because they dont know jack.

Thank you
Link Posted: 8/24/2021 8:10:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Both are good... I'm partial to the MK18.
Link Posted: 8/24/2021 8:26:04 PM EDT
[#2]
MK18.
Link Posted: 8/24/2021 8:40:06 PM EDT
[#3]
MK18. Go the extra mile and get the stamp if you can

Link Posted: 8/25/2021 11:46:22 AM EDT
[#4]
None
Fuck Marty and his FixNICS
Link Posted: 8/26/2021 1:06:42 PM EDT
[#5]
Neither. Get a honey badger or sugar weasel if you want a 300 blackout. Or build an upper with the Q barrel or a mostek 1:5 twist.

If you want a pistol snag something from SOLGW or have Trajectory Arms build you an upper.

DD is mediocre in today’s market.
Link Posted: 8/26/2021 6:42:20 PM EDT
[#6]
If this is your first AR, I'd stick with .223/5.56 which means the MK18.  Ammo is considerably cheaper, so you'll shoot more.

I have a DD MK18 upper and I like it so much I bought a second.  Light, maneuverable, easy to get on target.  Plus, since you're primary purpose is HD/plinking at the range the 10.5" barrel shouldn't be a problem because the distances of any potential engagement are presumably under 50 yards, so the velocity you lose out of such a short barrel will really be a non-issue.

Now if you already had a couple of standard AR's, were looking at a barrel under 10" or wanted to shoot suppressed, my recommendation might change.