Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Basics
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/8/2020 10:49:04 PM EDT
When window shopping (online), I noticed S&W ARs and Ruger ARs typically go for around the same price. Which of the two offer higher quality?
Link Posted: 2/9/2020 12:30:42 AM EDT
[#1]
From my experience I would go with the Ruger AR 556.  Their customer service is one of the best too.
Link Posted: 2/9/2020 12:37:10 AM EDT
[#2]
I have no experience with the Ruger ARs--although I like Ruger more as a company--but have seen S&Ws in carbine classes that functioned flawlessly.  It doesn't mean that they are better than Ruger; just conveying my observations.
Link Posted: 2/9/2020 3:40:23 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
When window shopping (online), I noticed S&W ARs and Ruger ARs typically go for around the same price. Which of the two offer higher quality?
View Quote
You could shoot both for a lifetime and not notice any difference. A bit like comparing a Civic to a Corolla.
Link Posted: 2/9/2020 6:05:43 AM EDT
[#4]
I honestly like how Ruger has a decent grip/trigger guard out of the box. Also the FSB is pretty nice, and has a QD cup built in. Atleast they tried to innovate.
Link Posted: 2/9/2020 9:32:33 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I honestly like how Ruger has a decent grip/trigger guard out of the box. Also the FSB is pretty nice, and has a QD cup built in. Atleast they tried to innovate.
View Quote
This.

I have a Ruger that is a few years old. Bought it used from a buddy that never had an issue with it. I haven't had an issue with it since I bought it 2 years ago.
Link Posted: 2/9/2020 9:38:05 AM EDT
[#6]
Can't speak to the Ruger, but the S&W has been in production since '06 and used by numerous LE departments,  which is generally a plus for catching issues.
Link Posted: 2/9/2020 10:10:55 AM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:
View Quote