Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Variants
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/10/2021 12:25:41 AM EDT
I'm still fairly new to large frame ARs, but I've read a lot of opinions that adjustable gas is more desirable in large frame due to wider variation between ammo, I want to suppress it eventually but that's quite a way off and I already have a cheapo basic low pro gas block in my spare parts that will fit the barrel but the SLR adjustable blocks look great/have great reviews.

The barrel is a Faxon 18 inch .308 with rifle length gas paired with an A5 length tube/H3 buffer combo.

Is it worth it, would you?
Link Posted: 1/10/2021 12:40:21 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 1/10/2021 7:14:46 AM EDT
[#2]
Rifles with proper gas shoot smoother with less perceived recoil.

Since eventually you will suppress the rifle I would go ahead and install the adjustable block now. To me, it is a annoying to disassemble a rifle just to reassemble it with a minor change.
Link Posted: 1/10/2021 11:09:21 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 1/10/2021 11:09:53 AM EDT
[#4]
Must have in imo.
Link Posted: 1/10/2021 11:48:14 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Rifles with proper gas shoot smoother with less perceived recoil.

Since eventually you will suppress the rifle I would go ahead and install the adjustable block now. To me, it is a annoying to disassemble a rifle just to reassemble it with a minor change.
View Quote

I think I will, although I'm going with a shorter hand guard that will leave the GB exposed so it wouldn't be too much of a pain (not the reason for it, just like the look of a shorter handguard generally), but maybe better to cry once now.
Link Posted: 1/10/2021 11:53:06 AM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
I use SLR Adj. GB's on all my Large Frame AR's. Very linear adjustments... they all tend to be set at about 6 clicks open from closed of the available 15 clicks.