Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/29/2018 4:44:55 AM EDT
Lapped 2 mega uppers & 4 aero’s But the compound worked its way down shaft as I lapped reciever. When finished I took a light and looked inside reciever,the anodizing was scuffed but not close to being removed. Am I fooked or am I just being paranoid?
I used a 180 grit compound. Just wondering if this can create a problem maybe. Thanks.
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 5:07:21 AM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
Lapped 2 mega uppers & 4 aero’s But the compound worked its way down shaft as I lapped reciever. When finished I took a light and looked inside reciever,the anodizing was scuffed but not close to being removed. Am I fooked or am I just being paranoid?
I used a 180 grit compound. Just wondering if this can create a problem maybe. Thanks.
View Quote
You are just being paranoid, I have raw uppers that I have been shooting for several years now and no problems at all..
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 9:32:03 AM EDT
[#2]
You didn’t damage anything.  But why were you lapping with abrasive.

Most people seek a tighter fit to the barrel extension, not a looser one.  If anything, you want to true the face of the receiver.  Although without something to index from, that may be a boondoggle as well.
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 9:49:38 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
You didn't damage anything.  But why were you lapping with abrasive.

Most people seek a tighter fit to the barrel extension, not a looser one.  If anything, you want to true the face of the receiver.  Although without something to index from, that may be a boondoggle as well.
View Quote
He was using a lapping tool to lap the face of the receiver and accidentally got some lapping compound inside the receiver.
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 10:46:05 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 10/29/2018 8:46:38 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted: