Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 6/8/2021 8:29:55 PM EDT
Hello everyone, I'm catching hell and then some trying to remove my current barrel nut (got a new handguard which has its own barrel nut). I'm somewhat new to working on AR's in detail but I've shot them for years, and I know some basic stuff.... Most barrel nuts I've seen actually all!! Have something you can grip to using the delta wrench, or use teeth on the slots of the barrel nut, pipe wrench and so on.... This one is completely smooth, has no notches on the edge like a CMMG factory barrel nut (which is what I thought this was but now I don't know). Ofcourse it's torqued way too much!! And I can't budge it!! I'll upload pics here.... Please any help would be greatly appreciated!! https://photos.app.goo.gl/AFAKR4X3UJGs4F6G8
Link Posted: 6/8/2021 8:51:10 PM EDT
[#1]
Here you go op…

Idk man maybe vice grips or pump pliers and a cheater pipe Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 6/8/2021 8:58:45 PM EDT
[#2]
I'd heat it, and try a plumber's strap wrench first.

If that doesn't work

Then heat, and try pliers or vise grips.

If that doesn't work, I've found a pipe wrench can work, but it will mar up the barrel nut

good luck, before anyone says you may need a dremel  to grind it off, which works by the way.
Link Posted: 6/8/2021 9:05:19 PM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
I'd heat it, and try a plumber's strap wrench first.

If that doesn't work

Then heat, and try pliers or vise grips.

If that doesn't work, I've found a pipe wrench can work, but it will mar up the barrel nut

good luck, before anyone says you may need a dremel  to grind it off, which works by the way.
View Quote

If you don’t have a heat gun try a blow dryer for a while but that is good advice
Link Posted: 6/8/2021 9:06:24 PM EDT
[#4]
I'm pretty much at Dremel time! Lol! Thanks!