Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/13/2018 4:34:41 PM EDT
Hi board, hi experts,

being an absolute newbie re parttaking here and not living in the USA I would like to ask for your advice and eventually help.
I had to experience that most(if not all?) US vendors and manufacturers of 80% lower receivers for both AR-15 /AR-308 don't want to or are prohibited from exporting
these 80% lowers abroad. In my case to Germany. I'm interested in importing a few 80% lowers, both made of aluminium and polymer.

- Why is this, despite 80% lowers are legally considered "paperweights"(the same goes for the respective German weapons laws, btw)  ??
- Has ITAR ruling, etc. to do with this ?

Can anybody give advice, please and/or name any company(plus private vendors) who would be interested in selling abroad ?

Thanks a lot and with friendly regards,

Fred
Link Posted: 2/13/2018 4:49:48 PM EDT
[#1]
Partially completed receivers are considered "munitions" under ITAR if they "have reached a stage in manufacture where they are clearly identifiable" as a firearm receiver.  I'd guess that an 80% receiver is already "clearly identifiable" as a firearm receiver, but don't know for sure what the State Department's opinion is.

Articles on the U.S. Munitions List include articles in a partially completed state (such as forgings, castings, extrusions and machined bodies) which have reached a stage in manufacture where they are clearly identifiable as defense articles. If the end-item is an article on the U.S. Munitions List (including components, accessories, attachments and parts as defined in § 121.8), then the particular forging, casting, extrusion, machined body, etc., is considered a defense article subject to the controls of this subchapter, except for such items as are in normal commercial use.

How many were you looking to get?