Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Pistols/SBR
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 1/14/2021 12:21:07 PM EDT
I know, terrible time to be doing this, but what is the best option for getting an SBR AK47? I'd like something krinkish that I can shoot suppressed. Sorry for my ignorance, I'm not very experienced with AKs.
Link Posted: 1/14/2021 1:29:55 PM EDT
[#1]
The easiest is probably a Romanian Draco pistol with 12.25" barrel or a Mini Draco with 7.75" barrel. Drill and tap the rear trunion for an ACE style folding stock and presto, you have a pretty good AK SBR.

https://www.carolinashootersclub.com/threads/mini-draco-many-upgrades.211527/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Da1r_quLMA
Link Posted: 1/14/2021 8:52:23 PM EDT
[#2]
That's exactly what I did. Draco pistol to SBR. But to shoot suppressed you have to make sure the threads are true on the barrel and a KNS piston is a must. Mine threads were not true and I had a smith try to rethread the barrel 1/2x28 but that ended badly. Wound up changing out the barrel and added a KNS piston. Now this thing is one sweet rig. Drops the brass 3 to 4 feet from you.
Link Posted: 1/15/2021 10:09:38 AM EDT
[#3]
The absolute, best option would be a 7.62x39 Galil ACE pistol with a KNS piston.
If you can find either.

Concentric, common 5/8×24 muzzle threads, also really easy to swap the brace for a stock to SBR it.

Link Posted: 1/15/2021 5:14:59 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
The absolute, best option would be a 7.62x39 Galil ACE pistol with a KNS piston.
If you can find either.

Concentric, common 5/8×24 muzzle threads, also really easy to swap the brace for a stock to SBR it.

View Quote

A Galil ACE is not an AK47, and it costs a lot more than most AK's. It's a nice weapon, but it's not what he asked for.
Link Posted: 1/16/2021 5:49:05 PM EDT
[#5]
SAM7K-44.
Link Posted: 1/21/2021 3:28:58 PM EDT
[#6]
PSA AK-P?