BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Build It Yourself
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 4/8/2020 10:58:39 PM EDT
As the title says I’m pretty new to AKs, I only have one a yugo opap. Other then disassembly for cleaning and lubing I don’t have much experience with them.

I picked up a Romanian MD65 underfolder kit off midway that I want to SBR and have a few questions. Up until researching here I had only really looked at Childers receivers but I see on here nodak is pretty popular. Can you go wrong with any of the well known companies that make receivers?

I’ll probably get a barrel from akbuilder and have it rethreaded 5/8x24 but I guess I’ll have to decide on a length once I get a gas block/site and take some measurements?

Lastly what FSB should I be looking at? I’d like something 90 degrees like a Draco so I don’t have to run any longer of a barrel then necessary. How does one know what FSB fits what? Guessing it goes off gas tube and barrel dimensions?

I’ve built 2 SBR ARs and I’m working on an 80% at the moment but never messed with AKs other then pulling the trigger. I tried reading through the stickies but it seems most of them are dead.
Link Posted: 4/10/2020 4:24:56 AM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
As the title says I’m pretty new to AKs, I only have one a yugo opap. Other then disassembly for cleaning and lubing I don’t have much experience with them.

I picked up a Romanian MD65 underfolder kit off midway that I want to SBR and have a few questions. Up until researching here I had only really looked at Childers receivers but I see on here nodak is pretty popular. Can you go wrong with any of the well known companies that make receivers?

I’ll probably get a barrel from akbuilder and have it rethreaded 5/8x24 but I guess I’ll have to decide on a length once I get a gas block/site and take some measurements?