Warning

 

Close
Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Cancel Confirm
AR15.COM
10/11/2013 2:38:43 PM EDT
I know it's "Armslist" and lots of ads are scams, but I'm going to out them whenever I can.
Poor guy (the FFL) has been plagued for over six months by these guys using his name and FFL number but with a different address:
Listed Here: http://www.armslist.com/posts/2210094/long-island-new-york-handguns-for-sale--smith---wesson--s-w-model-1066----10mm-double-action-semi-auto-pistol
Stolen here: http://www.gunauction.com/search/displayitem.cfm?itemnum=12138582
False name & E-Mail: Troy Southerland ([email protected])
Mailing Address: 142 Penataquit ave,bayshore, 11706,NY
The actual address for the FFL is: 771 DAVENTRY CIR WEBSTER NY - 14580
ALWAYS verify with the FFL E-Z Check system
Unleash the arfcom dogs of Hell.  

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: Fri, 11 Oct 2013 12:32:07 -0700
From: [email protected]
Subject: Re: ARMSLIST - Message from [email protected] about Smith & Wesson, S&W Model 1066 -- 10mm Double Action Semi Auto Pistol
To: [email protected]
Below is my details

License Number: 6-16-005-01-3H-02196

Expiration Date: 08/01/2016

License Name: GORMARK LLC

Mailing Address:  142 Penataquit ave,bayshore, 11706,NY

Below is my payment details $25 for shipping

Name: Troy Southerland

Mailing Address: 142 Penataquit ave,bayshore, 11706,NY

Make sure you send a tracking # for the payment for me to know is your payment because i receive more than 5 payments in a day so get back to me with the tracking # for me to know when i will receive the payment and i will remove the post on armslist once i receive the tracking # from you.
View Quote
10/11/2013 7:30:38 PM EDT
[#1]
Don't we have someone on the job down here who could contact him interested in the gun… then go knock on the door?
10/11/2013 9:27:18 PM EDT
[#2]
The only problem is this:
Instead of a "scam", it may be someone screwing with the guy who lives at that address.

The best thing to do would be to send a letter, return receipt with delivery signature. then you could see who signs for it.
He has a whole page of guns listed for sale, all stolen ads, all listed on the same day he joined Armslist.

So it could be a scam. But here is the problem: If that is a real address and someone gets mail there, sooner or later the Police will be involved.
And if I recall, offering to sell an illegal gun is a felony, even if there is no gun.
10/11/2013 9:29:46 PM EDT
[#3]
I looked on google Maps, and it appears to be a real address. Single family house.
10/12/2013 12:04:43 AM EDT
[#4]
Quote History
Quoted:
The only problem is this:
Instead of a "scam", it may be someone screwing with the guy who lives at that address.

The best thing to do would be to send a letter, return receipt with delivery signature. then you could see who signs for it.
He has a whole page of guns listed for sale, all stolen ads, all listed on the same day he joined Armslist.

So it could be a scam. But here is the problem: If that is a real address and someone gets mail there, sooner or later the Police will be involved.
And if I recall, offering to sell an illegal gun is a felony, even if there is no gun.
View Quote

I called the FFL he said that it's been an on-going problem for about six months, he contacted BATFE, and they referred it to the Postal Inspectors, who haven't done jack schitt.
It's obvious, and a simple search can be found linking pictures & descriptions to guns from sellers in other States, most often they've already "sold" on the site from some clown in the City claiming to have a FFL then when you check the number only to find out he's on the other side of the State and TELLS YOU it's a scam and he's nothing to do with any of it other than a pirated FFL number, well it's not too hard to figure out.
I wonder if the States "tip-line" could be used to go after these fuckers.  
10/12/2013 12:05:44 AM EDT
[#5]
Quote History
Quoted:
I looked on google Maps, and it appears to be a real address. Single family house.
View Quote

How about I call in "man with a gun" and they SWAT him.  
10/12/2013 4:45:20 AM EDT
[#6]
i'm about 30min +/- from him, I can always dress up like an LDS Missionary and give him a "come to Jesus" speech....
10/12/2013 5:58:59 AM EDT
[#7]
I can't believe that the BATFE wouldn't go hunting a fake "dealer".    I guess they're not interested if the guns aren't real only a money theft.  Seems like they wouldn't be pleased with someone undermining their system.
10/12/2013 6:06:20 AM EDT
[#8]
Quote History
Quoted:
i'm about 30min +/- from him, I can always dress up like an LDS Missionary and give him a "come to Jesus" speech....
View Quote

Better yet show up with a whole bunch of bad-dudes wanting "their guns"  

I can't believe ATF would pass the buck, but since it IS Mail fraud.....
Maybe they'll swoop down from on high when the dirty works been done.
10/12/2013 7:58:18 AM EDT
[#9]
So are the people pulling this scam sending an altered FFL?
10/12/2013 9:57:30 AM EDT
[#10]
You have to be kidding?  That's not a joke I think its kind of serious
Are the Batf even working? Isn't something like this a time for a knock on the door time?
This could turn into one bad day for. Our LE brothers

Just my opinion
10/13/2013 1:59:34 PM EDT
[#11]
Quote History
Quoted:
So are the people pulling this scam sending an altered FFL?
View Quote

Sure, it was just done to me: the guy gives you a valid looking identification list (hell, I've even had them send copies of Drivers Licenses) and it all looks good, but the address isn't even close!
I could sell something on the 'net requiring a FFL and when the copy comes in, just use the information. Did you read the e-mail in the quotation? The FFL number itself is good, but the address to send the funds is on the other side of the State! most would look at it and think it's all good, course a simple FFL E-Z Check exposes it all.
10/13/2013 5:42:37 PM EDT
[#12]
That area code is local to me.
10/14/2013 12:18:35 AM EDT
[#13]
Quote History
Quoted:
That area code is local to me.
View Quote
What area code? Did someone find and post the scammer's phone number?
10/14/2013 6:06:57 AM EDT
[#14]
Quote History
Quoted:
What area code? Did someone find and post the scammer's phone number?
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quote History
Quoted:
Quoted:
That area code is local to me.
What area code? Did someone find and post the scammer's phone number?

I didn't look for the scammers phone number, I searched the actual address of the REAL FFL in Webster (Rochester) got his phone number and called him; when I did, he told me it was a scam and that this problem has plagued him for the last six months or so, he's even posted ads indicating its a scam, the info on the scammers, and the names & addresses they're using! But these ads fall off very quickly and with no supervision it's a free-for-all.

"ANYTHING free will be abused." (me)  
10/14/2013 6:08:40 AM EDT
[#15]
Quote History
Quoted:
So are the people pulling this scam sending an altered FFL?
View Quote

I don't know if they are actually "altering" the document and sending it; I suspect not, they bluff people into thinking they're dealing with an actual FFL.