Warning

 

Close
Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Cancel Confirm
AR15.COM
7/23/2007 3:04:51 PM EDT
Has anyone ever bought anything from Tom Chambers or used Sprint shipping International. I won a auction on Ebay and they want me to wire the money for the item. I've never heared of either one of them and am a little reluctant to wire them $1800.00 sight unseen. any insight would be great.
Thanks, RW
7/23/2007 3:17:59 PM EDT
[#1]
http://www.sprint.bm/sprint_newyork.html

Never heard of the guy or Sprint Shipping. Their website looks like a middle schooler put it together, doesn't inspire much confidence.


Be VERY cautious about wiring $$$. the vast majority of scammers prefer Western Union or similiar because they can pick up the cash almost anywhere in the world. Makes tracing them impossible.

If you are paying for the shipping you should have the right to choose an alternate service.
7/24/2007 3:56:39 AM EDT
[#2]
Looks like a roll of the dice to me....

What is his ebay feedback?
7/24/2007 7:06:08 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
Looks like a roll of the dice to me....

What is his ebay feedback?


Yes.  We need all the information, please.

I'm a very experienced eBayer (same user name as here) with well over 500 transactions and over 450 positive feedbacks (100% too).

Send me the auction number by IM, or post it here if you like, and I'll examine it for you and give you my advice.

ETA: HEY!  Post number 700!  Do I get a cookie?
7/24/2007 8:05:45 AM EDT
[#4]
I wouldn't wire the money.
7/24/2007 10:38:41 AM EDT
[#5]
here it is. Thanks for your help.
RW


eBay sent this message to (rwells338).
Your registered name is included to show this message originated from eBay. Learn more.  
Response to Question about Item -- Respond Now  

eBay sent this message on behalf of an eBay member through My Messages. Responses sent using email will go to the eBay member directly and will include your email address.  
 

 
 Response from rmgismo
rmgismo( 0)
Positive feedback: 0%
Member since: Jun-24-07
Location: TX, United States
Registered on: www.ebay.com


Item: US Optics SN3 Canadian USO Military Sniper Scope (270143815663)  
This message was sent after the listing closed.
rmgismo is the seller.



It`s done, this is the tracking number : A6F5H7D7F5R7N6D5 and the shipping date: 07232007 .You check the status of the process online at http://www.sprint-shipping.ro/track.php . Also i received an email with the shipping details from the company . Did you get it? Please let me know.

Have a nice day.
Tom Chambers
Respond to this question



Responses in My Messages will not include your email address.






Details for item number: 270143815663
Item title: US Optics SN3 Canadian USO Military Sniper Scope
Item URL: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270143815663&sspagename=ADME:L:RTQ:US:1
End date: Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 15:24:06 PDT

  Marketplace Safety Tip  

Always remember to complete your transaction on eBay - it's the safer way to buy.

Please do not offer to buy or sell this item through this form without completing the transaction on eBay. If you receive a response inviting you to transact outside of eBay, you should decline -- such transactions may be unsafe and are against eBay policy.  





Is this email inappropriate? Does it violate eBay policy? Help protect the Community by reporting it.  

 



Learn how you can protect yourself from spoof (fake) emails at:
http://pages.ebay.com/education/spooftutorial

This eBay notice was sent to [email protected] on behalf of another eBay member through the eBay platform and in accordance with our Privacy Policy. If you would like to receive this email in text format, change your notification preferences.

See our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have questions about eBay's communication policies.
Privacy Policy: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/privacy-policy.html
User Agreement: http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/user-agreement.html

Copyright © 2006-2007 eBay, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of eBay, Inc.
eBay is located at 2145 Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125.







7/24/2007 10:49:51 AM EDT
[#6]
whois of the shipping company website:

domain-name: sprint-shipping.ro
description: MobiFon S.A.
description: Piata Charles de Gaulle, nr.15
description: Sector 1
description: Bucharest, Romania
description: Phone: +40-21-302 4156
description: Fax: +40-21-302 1475
admin-contact: IOS1-ROTLD
technical-contact: IOS1-ROTLD
zone-contact: IOS1-ROTLD
nameserver:  ns8.dr.myx.net
nameserver:  dnsbck.dr.myx.net
info:        mount vernon
info:        libertatii 5
info:        
info:        cod fiscal / cod numeric personal:
info:        Registered via xnet
info:        The NIC for Romania is http://www.rotld.ro/
notify:      ************@listserv.rnc.ro
object-maintained-by: ROTLD-MNT
updated:     ************@listserv.rnc.ro 20070719
source:      ROTLD
application-date: 20070719
domain-status: active
registration-date: 20070719
expire-date: 20080719


i would not send the money
7/24/2007 10:53:33 AM EDT
[#7]
Absolutely NOT!

You should not even bid on such a high priced item on ebay from a seller with ZERO feedback.

Guy is in port arthur, but using a romainian shipping company???  Please.

That is a scam, pure and simple.
7/24/2007 12:08:41 PM EDT
[#8]

Quoted:
Absolutely NOT!

You should not even bid on such a high priced item on ebay from a seller with ZERO feedback.

Guy is in port arthur, but using a romainian shipping company???  Please.

That is a scam, pure and simple.



Not to mention a domain name aof a supposed shipping company registered a grand total of 5 days ago.

I agree... total scam.
7/24/2007 12:15:37 PM EDT
[#9]
All good advice.

Don't pay the guy.
7/24/2007 12:18:33 PM EDT
[#10]
Thanks a lot to everyone for all the help. I had a bad feeling on this one, thanks for confirming what I suspected.

RW
7/24/2007 2:25:48 PM EDT
[#11]
height=8
...It`s done, this is the tracking number : A6F5H7D7F5R7N6D5 and the shipping date: 07232007 ...

Have a nice day.
Tom Chambers...


Well.....this is a change. A scammer shipping an item BEFORE it was paid for.

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT ACCEPT THAT PACKAGE! If you do it's his word against yours that the correct item was delivered.

This guy could be on the up and up OR he could be shipping you a 12" lead pipe. By accepting that shipment the SELLER will have proof of delivery. That's all he needs- PROOf that you received a package. He will of course argue that he sent the expensive scope. EBay will take his side.


If he is an honest man, he's also a pretty dim bulb. NO ONE in their right mind ships an $1,800 item BEFORE payment is received.

Protect yourself now. Notify EBay immediately that you believe this guy is a scammer. That should help you when the guy reports you as a non paying bidder and neg reps you. DO THIS TODAY!
7/24/2007 2:37:18 PM EDT
[#12]

Quoted:
Absolutely NOT!

You should not even bid on such a high priced item on ebay from a seller with ZERO feedback.

Guy is in port arthur, but using a romainian shipping company???  Please.

That is a scam, pure and simple.


+1






Million.
7/24/2007 3:54:40 PM EDT
[#13]
You need to report this guy to ebay immediately.
7/24/2007 7:42:07 PM EDT
[#14]
Done
7/25/2007 8:35:03 AM EDT
[#15]

Quoted:
Well.....this is a change. A scammer shipping an item BEFORE it was paid for.

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT ACCEPT THAT PACKAGE! If you do it's his word against yours that the correct item was delivered.




That's just it.  The site is a total fake.

oh, it will look legit.  Probably have a box you can put the number in and select "track this shipment"

and it will say it's been shipped to such and such address and has passed such and such points.


BUT...  it's all fake.  It's a site set up by the scammer.

It's actually kind of amateur.  If he was real good he would have sent a hyperlink that looks like http://fedex.com but would actually be http://fedexx.com or even unrelated.  Have the same look and feel as the real fedex site, but be completely fake.

It's a typical ploy used in phishing scams to get passwords and other info.


Click the fedex link below:

.http://www.fedex.com

If someone isn't paying attention...