Warning

 

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 6/29/2003 8:21:22 AM EDT
I'm gonna be heading ot to Mesa next month and need to get my CCW permit.After taking the class, what's the average wait?My MA permit was about 4 weeks wait.I'd also like to know if any of you guys could recommend a good place to take the class?
Link Posted: 6/29/2003 9:36:38 AM EDT
Last year my renewal took about two weeks after I sent the paper work in. If you're going to be in Mesa you can take the class at Caswells indoor range. That way you can do your shooting indoors. Their instructors are so-so. Buy Alan Korwin's book and read it before the class. You'll know the law as well as most instructors.

www.gunlaws.com/agog.htm
Link Posted: 6/29/2003 9:43:40 PM EDT
it took me 2 weeks to get my CCW after i mailed in the paperwork.
Link Posted: 6/30/2003 3:59:58 AM EDT
About two and a half for me. Seems to be around two weeks on the average.
Link Posted: 6/30/2003 4:17:03 AM EDT
Thanks guys.
Link Posted: 6/30/2003 2:47:35 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 6/30/2003 3:01:41 PM EDT by TREETOP]
Link Posted: 6/30/2003 3:02:48 PM EDT
Link Posted: 7/1/2003 2:38:08 PM EDT
http://www.dps.state.az.us/ccw/3102.htm

"The following states have an active CCW reciprocal agreement on file with the State of Arizona. This means your Arizona permit allows you to carry concealed under their respective state statute, and Arizona will reciprocate by recognizing CCW permits issued by these states, regardless of whether they are "Resident" or "Non-Resident," if so marked.

Alaska, Arkansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Texas, and Utah"
Link Posted: 7/2/2003 9:27:02 PM EDT
CCW Instructor here....If I'm not running a class on a particular weekend, I have a friend who will...I have an understanding with him that he is to charge what I charge and he'll get my referals..That fee is $50/per person...It usually takes 1-2 weeks for the permit and NO, you cannot carry concealed until you receive the permit in the mail...

And I second reading Korwin's book... August 1 all our teaching criteria changes. We are now told what to teach by DPS...Nothing that you guys have to do changes though..it's still 16 hours and $50 to the state with fingerprint cards...test changed too..The state has made up their own and we MUST use it...Has more questions on it than my original did...

IM me when you're ready..a couple of other guys expressed interest, but we haven't set anything up yet...
Top Top