Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 1/28/2006 12:54:16 PM EDT
Hey all,

Seeing as how the ban has been expired for a good while now I'm looking to convert my "ban-legal" AR to its appropriate glory by adding a new barrel with threads and a lug and also by adding a collapsible stock. In the interest of saving money (I'm a grad student) I was thinking of getting one of the "el cheapo" telescoping stocks like the ones made by Leapers at Cheaper Than Dirt....

http://www.cheaperthandirt.com/ARR007-3293-1888.html

I'm not really interested in the six-position M4's, mainly due to my budget. However, if anyone has had a bad experience with the Leapers 4-position stocks or similar ones made by another manufacturer I'd like to hear about it. Otherwise I'm probably gonna go with the Leapers.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 1/28/2006 1:20:38 PM EDT
Try RB performance in the industry section here. Rock River for a good price.

I have no experience with them as a vendor. You're on your own there.

M4-AK
Link Posted: 1/28/2006 2:42:23 PM EDT
I fully understand where you are coming from, but I would avoid getting that low cost leapers stock. the ones I have seen were not very good at all.

For 50$ you can get a much better quality one from here.

Or even go here and get a good stock from a very reputable vendor.

The buffer tube, springs and buffer are very important to the function of the rifle.
Link Posted: 1/28/2006 3:09:20 PM EDT
When it comes to a tele stock, don't go cheap! I'm not saying you have to drop $200 on an LMT, but get a quality M4 stock... I think you are looking at like $75 tops.

I have cheapo stocks and it was a mistake.

- BG
Link Posted: 1/28/2006 3:19:34 PM EDT
Buy Nice or Buy Twice!
Link Posted: 1/28/2006 5:08:10 PM EDT
Link Posted: 1/29/2006 5:43:03 AM EDT