Warning

 

Close
Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Cancel Confirm
AR15.COM
3/14/2012 5:42:30 AM EDT
Hi guys,

I would like to know, is it a real Colt Lower. In my opinion , NO. This is from an auction on a German Plattform.

http://www10.pic-upload.de/14.03.12/h3rw63sbf9wt.jpg

http://www10.pic-upload.de/14.03.12/yzi1ae9w2qeh.jpg

I would like to send the results to the seller. He sells this for another guy. Can a official Colt- Guy write reasons too?

Best Regards
3/14/2012 5:58:53 AM EDT
[#1]
1) font used for the markings on the magwell is wrong.
2) next to the ponyovertheglobe logo there should be the Colt logo as well. the ponyovertheglobe logo is used only on full auto weapons AFAIK.
3) Colt never used those selector markings
4) Colt lowers usually lack the raised selector stops

what's wrong in germany?! it's not the first time I see pics of fake colt lowers being sold over there...even full auto ones...
soon or later they will clone a real S/N as well...

the upper receiver looks legit btw
3/14/2012 6:26:10 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
1) font used for the markings on the magwell is wrong.
2) next to the ponyovertheglobe logo there should be the Colt logo as well. the ponyovertheglobe logo is used only on full auto weapons AFAIK.
3) Colt never used those selector markings
4) Colt lowers usually lack the raised selector stops

what's wrong in germany?! it's not the first time I see pics of fake colt lowers being sold over there...even full auto ones...
soon or later they will clone a real S/N as well...

the upper receiver looks legit btw


To add to the above:
The lower looks to be engraved and not roll marked
3/14/2012 6:35:37 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
Hi guys,

I would like to know, is it a real Colt Lower. In my opinion , NO. This is from an auction on a German Plattform.

<a href="http://www.pic-upload.de/view-13339606/710_09.jpg.html" target="_blank">http://www10.pic-upload.de/14.03.12/h3rw63sbf9wt.jpg</a>

<a href="http://www.pic-upload.de/view-13339614/710_01.jpg.html" target="_blank">http://www10.pic-upload.de/14.03.12/yzi1ae9w2qeh.jpg</a>

I would like to send the results to the seller. He sells this for another guy. Can a official Colt- Guy write reasons too?

Best Regards




Abso-fucking-lutely not.  

That's not even a good fake.  

The sheer magnitude of "wrongness" displayed there is utterly astounding.





You'd think these German fake shops would at least get the font right.  It may as well be clip art.  

~Augee
3/14/2012 9:12:46 AM EDT
[#4]
I'm not a Colt expert, just a long time Colt customer and enthusiast for 41 years now.

I agree with the other members here said and I would just add that the serial number prefix letters are wrong in the OP picture, AR6721 prefix currently are LBD not CC.

Also I noticed that the fake lower have an older style receiver extension (buffer tube) nut, current production are using castle nut type.

I currently have two AR6721 A3 Tactical carbines, an older model made during the assault weapons ban era and a newer made in 2009.


3/14/2012 11:31:29 PM EDT
[#5]
Judging by the pictographs and raised selector stops I would say this lower was made of an unmarked, no-name semi lower that only came with the SAFE and FIRE pictographs by engraving the markings and refinishing the whole thing. Those lowers show up from time to time in Europe, right now some are offered here:

http://www.egun.de/market/item.php?id=3717876

Seller says, they got their markings removed and re-finished, coming with a metric grip-screw hole and a serial number at the inside.

As in the USA a lot of people will pay top prices for Colt parts and guns, but we can hardly get one here, so fakes seem to be a way to go to make money. Sadly we can not get good information regarding markings or proof marks, even the correct fonts, so it is quite easy for the fakers.
3/15/2012 2:25:53 PM EDT
[#6]
no way in hell

who was the guy that  bought a  german  made forgery lower some years ago, that was marked colt etc but was an obvious fake. was a member here