Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 11/23/2005 12:22:08 PM EDT
I am just wondering if this is legal! I have never done this before, nor do I plan to!

Is it legal if a person under 18 gives his or her dad or mom the money to purchase a handgun or long gun for him/her?
Link Posted: 11/23/2005 2:58:36 PM EDT
Legally, someone under 18 cannot be in possetion of any handgun or long gun. However, there is nothing to stop you folks from purchasing a gun and letting you practice with it as long as they are with you to supervise. Then, when you reach legal age, it will make a nice birthday present. ATF defines a straw purchase as someone purchasing a weapon for someone who cannot legally purchase one for themselves. So, I guess, from a legal standpoint, since you cannot legally buy a weapon for yourselves because of your age, then having your parents buy it for you would tecnically be a Straw Purchase.
Link Posted: 11/23/2005 3:12:16 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 11/23/2005 3:14:57 PM EDT by sysop]
Yes it is legal but it has to be a parent grand parent or legal guardian.

gunwiz is wrong about the long guns unless there is something special about the laws in VA.

An individual under 18 can legally posess and own a long gun.

Handguns can be owned by individual under 18 but if you take it out of your home you must be accompanied by a legal guardian over the age of 21 or another adult with a letter of written consent.

Link Posted: 11/23/2005 8:29:29 PM EDT
Sysop, you are correct according to Section 18.2-309 section B!
Link Posted: 11/23/2005 8:31:18 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 11/23/2005 9:14:58 PM EDT by g3shooter]
Linky:leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+18.2-309
Link Posted: 11/23/2005 8:32:55 PM EDT
linky no workee
Link Posted: 11/23/2005 9:16:16 PM EDT
Try copying and pasting now, that works fine for me.
Link Posted: 11/25/2005 8:51:13 PM EDT