Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/10/2003 2:02:05 PM EDT
Howdy.  

I will be in the market for a CHEAP motorhome that can drive 3500 miles (1700 to/from) in the near future.  Needs to sleep 6, have a working toilet, not break down on the trip, and did I mention cheap?  

Any suggestions on what to look for, or not look for?  

I have zero motorhome experience, so tell me all about 'em.  Thanks.  
Link Posted: 6/10/2003 2:18:42 PM EDT
[#1]
I looked at alot of used RV's before I recently bought a travel trailer.

I got sick of looking for a decent RV and figured I just pull it with my truck and forget about worring about one with a good drive train.

For what your looking for you'll probably have to part with about $6k minimum, mid to late '80's vintage.

Things to note other than the usual stuff you look for in a used car:

have plumbing pressure tested or run water through it for a few hours and look for leaks

water stains in ceiling

have the owner demonstrate generator, heater, water heater, etc.

Link Posted: 6/10/2003 2:35:26 PM EDT
[#2]
Cool.

Needs to be a motorhome, since we don't have a sufficient size truck [:)]
Link Posted: 6/10/2003 2:45:09 PM EDT
[#3]
This one should work ok.
[img]http://www.rvclassified.com/pictures/39308_1_T.jpg[/img]
[url]http://www.rvclassified.com/rvclassified_cfmfiles/ads/adsearch2.cfm?adid=39308[/url]
Link Posted: 6/10/2003 2:57:39 PM EDT
[#4]
What a bargain!

[rolleyes]
Link Posted: 6/10/2003 3:02:39 PM EDT
[#5]
www.rvtrader.com

Link Posted: 6/10/2003 3:55:39 PM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 6/10/2003 4:08:16 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:
are you in michigan?, is it a temporary thing, or do you need to own it?, not doing anything illegal i may have a loaner for you, im me
View Quote

No to MI, yes to temporary, and um...we'll get back to you on the legal aspects.  So that's probably a no [:D]
Link Posted: 6/10/2003 4:09:38 PM EDT
[#8]
Ever think about renting. Works for me.