Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/4/2003 7:05:30 AM EDT
Howdy everyone, been exploring this site and decided I had to join. I'm from Arkansas and I've been shooting my uncle's AR for a couple of months and am now in love with it. His is a pre-ban 20" Bushmaster, I think. I'm planning on getting one, and I was thinking about the carbine version. A couple of questions: should I build my own (not a rich man), what manufacturer should I use, do you like the 16" version (I like the lower weight), is there such a thing as group buys with the AR, are there other things I should know before purchasing, etc. I own a couple of rifles and shotguns, I'm just ignorant in this particuar area and would appreciate any help.

Thanks,
Rookie
Link Posted: 8/4/2003 8:33:36 AM EDT
[#1]
Go out to your friendly neighborhood gun store and pick up a bushmaster off the rack. If the shop is well stocked they will have a few to choose from. For price I'd think somewhere around $800/$900 should do you just fine.
Link Posted: 8/4/2003 8:59:27 AM EDT
[#2]
Welcome....

Now, how much money do you wish to spend [}:D]?

At times, building your own can cost more in the long run, but you don't spend that huge amount right away.  If you shop around, you can find "deals".  What usually kills one is the shipping, it adds up.  Trust me, I know....

If you are wanting to learn the ins and outs of the AR, then building is the way to go.  I would suggest a complet upper, don't assemble.  But that's me....
Link Posted: 8/4/2003 9:49:30 AM EDT
[#3]