Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/7/2017 11:40:27 AM EDT
I am new to the whole long range shooting game, I have finally settled on my rifle and just ordered it (Savage 12 LRP 6.5 creedmoor). Now to my question do I need to break in the barrel? If so, what process is best?

(Sorry if this topic is beating a dead horse)
Link Posted: 4/7/2017 11:57:00 AM EDT
[#1]
IMHO I thing not, just shoot the son of a bitch, it will break in.
Link Posted: 4/7/2017 12:31:35 PM EDT
[#2]
Dupe, dead horse, and a search FAIL.
Link Posted: 4/7/2017 4:37:35 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 4/7/2017 4:59:56 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By Rob01:
Have tried them all from shoot one and clean to not doing anything and found it doesn't make a difference. A lot is people's superstitions about how it's always been done.

Now what I do with a new rifle is this:

Clean the bore and barrel really good.
Go to range and shoot it and get rifle zeroed.
Bring it home and clean it well again.
Another range trip.
Clean it really good one more time and then clean it when it either gets in inclement weather or groups open.
View Quote
Thanks I'll be sure to do this, sorry for the epic fail on my part
Link Posted: 4/7/2017 10:06:21 PM EDT
[#5]
Go to Kriegers site and get their break in procedure.
Link Posted: 4/8/2017 9:22:52 AM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 4/11/2017 10:44:06 PM EDT
[#7]
Something to think about. Do you know why GA Precision has barrel break in info on their page? Because people kept calling and writing and asking for it so they just posted it so people had what they wanted. Not because they think they need it or even use it.
View Quote
My new AI came with break in instructions for the Bartlein barrels. Do you reckon they provide them for the same reason? Serious question as my mount will be here Friday and I'm headed to the range saturday, rain or shine to try her out!