Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/2/2020 10:26:21 PM EDT
3 Gun is getting popular in my area. Guys are starting to bring their custom rifles and I'm only using a an AR for long range and want to go lighter. I'm in the market for 500 yards or less, if that makes since. I'm new at building rifles so I'm open to buying one outright but I understand after reading that isn't the best case. Looking for any information that might help me get started. Even some brand names to look out for and weights to try to stick to. Thank you in advance.
Link Posted: 3/2/2020 10:43:00 PM EDT
[#1]
My advice wont go far here maybe but unless you really are trying to go pro my advice is use serviceable weapons and gear, have fun and compete against yourself.

If I wouldnt grab it in the boogaloo I dont want to compete with it.
Link Posted: 3/2/2020 11:19:56 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Genin] [#2]
GA Precision, JP rifles, Knights Armaments are all good rifles.  Once you understand how they are built, what works, and what you want the rifle to do, you may well be able to build your own rifle that has exactly the features you want.
Link Posted: 3/4/2020 11:08:52 AM EDT
[#3]
run what you have until you find what holds you back.... I run a BCM 14.5 middy with a shit mil-spec trigger.... works just fine. I may upgrade trigger at some point but I will not get all "race gun"  maybe a geissele sd-c
Link Posted: 3/6/2020 1:19:42 PM EDT
[Last Edit: sdc360] [#4]
My best advice would be to window shop and ask questions at matches. I've never met a 3 gunner that isn't happy to discuss gear or even let you try it out.

For 500 yards and under a 16" or 18" barrel with 1/8 twist and wyld chamber seems to be the crowd favorite. Thinner rail, adjustable gas block, 3.5 lb or lighter trigger, muzzle break and a 1-6 or 1-8 optic of your choice will round things out.