Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » Troubleshooting
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Posted: 2/9/2017 12:58:06 AM EDT
So I just got my PSA barreled receiver together (I know, I know, it's been a bad day for them).  
So I have 2 yugo surplus mags and one 1 polish steel from AIM. I can barely get the yugos to sit, but I think they are locked in, very tight. The polish is a no go. FIRST AK47 so complete newb. Once the yugo's are in, I have to basically hit the mag paddle to get it to budge. I've read a little from a google search, but I can't gather much specifics. I know I can file.....but where? Thanks for the help!
Link Posted: 2/9/2017 1:16:50 AM EDT
[#1]
This is a common issue with AK's. The mag release is a "stamping" and often has "flash" on the edges of the release from the stamping process. These edges are sharp and tend to grab the mag where they contact. I always just take a jewelers file and lightly "break" the edges where they contact the tail on the mags. That should make things a lot smoother.

Youre not taking much off, just taking away/breaking that sharp edge.

I personally think filing the mags is a bad idea, especially if you have more than one gun. By modifying the mags, you may very well be dedicating them to that gun.

You shouldnt have to take off much metal at all with the file, just break the edges and remove the rough/sharp parts. Beyond that, Id say its either the mags or something is up with the mag release.
Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 2/9/2017 8:42:35 AM EDT
[#2]
Thanks for the response! When I get home tonight I will give this a shot and see where I am at....I may be back with more questions haha
Link Posted: 2/10/2017 3:52:15 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By bwc_oh33:
Thanks for the response! When I get home tonight I will give this a shot and see where I am at....I may be back with more questions haha
View Quote