Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/8/2022 11:09:18 PM EDT
I'm a former resident of Essex county, when there owned a business, had employees, was a Republican committeeman for a number of years.  Own property there on land owned by family for over a hundred years.  Learned to shoot there.  Learned to hunt and fish there.  My grandparents and parents are buried in the town cemetery.  But I am a nonresident that now spends summers and falls there.  All my gun owning neighbors have fancy ARs and knowing them most all my life, I'll bet they have not yet gotten around to registering theirs.

I won't bring handguns into the state any more.  I used to.  The risk is too great now.  I was a permit holder as a resident, but it's not valid now.  I want to have and shoot an AR type 5.56 I can carry in and use, then carry back home to my free state of Florida.  What risk do I have doing this with a fixed mag 10 round Smith M&P Sport II AR 15?
Link Posted: 5/9/2022 8:20:40 AM EDT
[#1]
Fixed mag? No risk at all. It's not an evil "assault weapon" in NY.

Link Posted: 5/9/2022 8:29:26 AM EDT
[#2]
You still own property there you can still retain your permit.
As for your neighbors who "haven't gotten around to registering their ARs", their window of opportunity to do that closed years ago.
If your fixed mag rifle is NY compliant you can have it. I'd rather switch to a plain Jane rifle like a mini than try to deal with a fixed mag rifle. Of course they're going after all semi's eventually. Just a matter of time
Link Posted: 5/11/2022 12:16:04 PM EDT
[#3]
Order a Bullet Button (readily available for under $20.) Installing it takes all of three minutes with the included tool, buy a ten round Mag-Pul magazine and enjoy yourself.