Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/28/2014 3:46:23 PM EDT
http://blog.timesunion.com/opinion/ny-safe-act-is-a-real-lifesaver/30804/
Posted on September 28, 2014 | By Letters to the editor

I am a retired career police officer. I served nearly 30 years and was a command officer in the Monroe County Sheriff’s Police Bureau when I retired. With that background in mind, I question Tim Flynn’s presumption in his letter “Gun laws make people less safe,” Sept. 4. It is a presumption without merit.

As a career police officer trained and qualified in the use of assault rifles, let’s be clear that what Flynn refers to as “cosmetic features” do indeed increase a weapon’s lethality.

Lethality is measured in three areas; ballistic effectiveness is but one. The other two are efficiency and efficacy. They are commonly ignored or intentionally not mentioned in this discussion. It is in these two areas that the assault rifle excels at it purpose of killing the most people in the shortest time possible. Mikhail Kalashnikov, inventor of the AK-47, and our military included them in their designs for this reason.

The NY SAFE Act is one reason New York has the fourth-lowest gun death rate in the nation, a remarkable fact for a state of 20 million that hosts 80 million visitors each year. Our laws continue to save lives and serve as a reasonable model for the rest of the country.

Gary Pudup

Retired lieutenant, Monroe County Sheriff’s Office

Rochester
Gee imagine that! Comments are CLOSED

Oh it gets better! he's running for an Assembly seat!
http://garypudup.com/

From his site:
Public Safety

As a career police officer, incident command trainer and as an advocate for civil liberties, I understand the balance between law and order and the rights of citizens.

I remain an active co-member of the Police/Community Advisory Council along with the Greece Police Department.
Link Posted: 9/28/2014 4:05:42 PM EDT
[#1]