Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Hometown » Iowa
Posted: 2/20/2007 8:43:42 AM EDT
I'm new to the mushroom hunting scene.  All I really know about them is how tasty they are.  Anyone want to get together this spring and show me the ins and outs of mushroom hunting?  Maybe a there are a few other noobs that could use a primer too?  Perhaps with some time at the range afterwards?
Link Posted: 2/20/2007 9:24:06 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm not a mushroom hunter but unfortunately my wife is.  The only thing I can tell you is that her favorite hidden spots are probably going to her grave with her.  I'm sure other mushroom hunters are the same way.  When mushroom season is in full swing, we have mushrooms everywhere in different stages of cleaning, packaging, and storing.  I really hate mushrooms.  I'd really like my freezer back and am only alowed to toss out old stored mushrooms when the new batches are being put in.  Have I mentioned that I really hate them damn mushrooms!    
Link Posted: 2/20/2007 9:48:01 AM EDT
[#2]
That's like getting the key to Ft. Knox.  Just pay the price at local veggie stand or grocery store, eat till you get sick, then do something fun with your weekend.
Link Posted: 2/20/2007 10:13:18 AM EDT
[#3]
we have a crapload of 'em on the land we turkey hunt (approx. 2500 acres total, all to ourselves for turkey season) and i don't care for them at all.

i'll usually grab a few for the in-laws though when i'm out chasing Tommy and his friends.

not that i'd be opposed to a range day by any stretch of the imagination.
Link Posted: 2/20/2007 1:48:36 PM EDT
[#4]
You might be able to get someone to show you one of their crappy sites if you were to purchase them a new rifle of their choice.
Link Posted: 2/20/2007 2:22:02 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
You might be able to get someone to show you one of their crappy sites if you were to purchase them a new rifle of their choice.

That would work for me.