Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/3/2022 9:11:05 PM EDT
Where can i find out if the Loosahatchie river is navigable? Or if i can kayak it without permission to cross property lines while on the water?
Link Posted: 7/4/2022 10:16:14 AM EDT
[#1]
TWRA is where I would contact first. I’m pretty sure on that one you should be good to go. I’ve never been on that one but the Hatchie is nice to kayak on. Several nice sections near me. How long of a trip are you looking for or just interested in that particular river?
Link Posted: 7/9/2022 11:04:59 AM EDT
[#2]
TWRA contacted me saying it is a LEO question and they have sent my question to the local TWRA LEO.

I am very familiar with the Hatchie. My brother and i fished it a lot back in the day and i have hunted the Hatchie refuge for 30+ years. Haven't paddled it. Seems like an aggressive current for paddling. I would want to do it with a group. I am a beginner kayaker. Maybe more up river would be better for paddling.

I am looking at the loosahatchie because that is some clean and very cold water. If my kayak can draft it, it would be close, fun and cool on a hot summer day.

Link Posted: 7/14/2022 10:08:50 PM EDT
[#3]
Understand wanting something close.  And he Hatchie is that for me. We generally drop a car and go down river.  Have done up river paddles the back to car as well. It’s a nice paddle and really not a bad current at all I would say even for a beginner.  Wife and I paddled it when it was flooded a few years ago. Upstream was not going to happen, but downstream was not that rough. The feel in a kayak is different from John boat. I think a lot of people who have been on it in a John boat imagine it a lot worse in a kayak than it is.