Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Hometown » Utah
Posted: 6/1/2008 1:47:56 PM EDT
I took the precision-rifle class at FBMG last weekend.  Teacher was John Wester, a veteran of Afghanistan, currently in the National Guard.  He lectured brilliantly in the Friday night class and distributed excellent documentation.  

Saturday morning, James Bunten, FBMG president and senior trainer, arranged for us to shoot at the quarry above Lehi.  When everyone was zero'd at 100 yards, John moved us to 300 yards, read the wind and told us to come up four minutes and left three minutes.  I did what he said and was able to immediately deliver a group in the center of mass of the torso target.  Even though he taught us how to make the calculations, it seemed like wizardry to me.

When the wind stopped, I fired another group without returning to zero and they all missed the target.  Because I am a beginner, I was surprised at the effect of the wind.  I now know what to do about it.  The other main thing that I learned is the importance of being able to return to zero by marking dials.  

I was shooting 168-grain match ammo from a DPMS .308 carbine.  I don't think that I want a 26" barrel, however I do want a 20" .308 AR with a 10-power fixed scope with mil dots.  At 300 yards, twenty inches is better than sixteen.  And 10 power is better than 3 power for my 52-year old eyes.

John was an energetic and expert teacher.  James was a good host.  

Link Posted: 6/1/2008 5:15:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Thanks a lot for the info.  I've been thinking about taking some of the FBMG classes for a while, but didn't want to waste my money and couldn't find any outside references to say how good they were.  

I do have a few other questions, if you dont mind.

How many people were in the class?
Did you feel it was time well spent/learned a lot? (If you could rewind the clock and had the option to do it all over again, would you?)