Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/7/2005 4:08:53 PM EDT
OK,  Since I'm a newbie to the state I have been reading through the Hunting regulations

Looking over page 7 of the reg under Legal Firearms and Archery Equipment.  22 cal or larger for bullets.  Nothing on magazine capacity.  I looked in the special firearm restrictions and it only covers plugs for shotguns and silencers.  Did I miss something?  Is their a magazine limit or could you use a 20 or 30 rounder?  (not that I need that many shots)

I only have a 25 round mag for my 6.8 that I use for deer hunting.
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 4:31:38 PM EDT
[#1]
5 round limit, 4 in mag, 1 in chamber.

With that said I use a colt 20 rnder with 4 in it and 1 in chamber for deer.  Not about to pay $25 for a 5 rounder.

Bill3508
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 4:47:02 PM EDT
[#2]
Bill,

I'll tell you from experience that they will give you a hard time for a 20rd magazine, regardless of how many rounds are in it!
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 5:08:03 PM EDT
[#3]
We had this exact same thread last year.  There are no rules or laws anymore concerning mag capacity while hunting in Ga.  I called my local duck popo and asked.
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 5:09:00 PM EDT
[#4]
edited to acknowledge that our local popo has a faster trigger finger than me.(I was reading this years regulations to be sure nothing was stuck in there I was unaware of)

I know for a fact that there is a restriction on shotguns.  Dove hunting ect.... you are limited to 3 rounds and are limited to 5 rounds while hunting deer, bear, and hogs.

As far as rifles go, I have never seen a magazine capacity restriction in writing.  I have heard people say that there is one, but I have yet to see it in writing (it's not in this years regulations either) so I've always gone on the premise that there is no restriction.   If you can show me where this rule is in writing, I would appreciate it.