Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/10/2006 1:05:35 PM EDT
I'm a Cary resident and am considering applying for a Curio & Relic FFL.   Who is the local CLEO that I need to mail a photocopy of my ATF form to?

Also, the CLEO only needs a PHOTOCOPY, not a inked 'copy' of the official form?  I was confused by this since other sources said to get two forms.

C&R looks to be $30, and then another $20+ for a bound book to record in...  any other costs or concerns?

Thanks.
Link Posted: 3/10/2006 1:31:02 PM EDT
[#1]
I got my C&R about 4 years ago.  First, I checked with the Wake Co. Sheriff office and they said the sheriff was the CLEO.  Then I checked with Cary, and they said the Cary police chief was it.  I decided to go with the sheriff.  Just mail a photocopy of the application along with a cover letter.  All you are doing is notifying them as required -- the CLEO does not have to "approve" anything.

As for the bound book -- I used the one available from RK Enterprises (805-687-1416), which only cost $7.50 at the time.  The BATF requires certain info to be logged, but you don't have to buy a fancy book to do it in.

That was it -- got the license in several weeks, sent signed copies to various dealers for their files, and then started blowing money on old rifles.  Great fun!

Note:  be sure to make photocopies of your new license first, then sign the copies in blue or other non-black ink.  Keep your unsigned original in a safe place.
Link Posted: 3/10/2006 10:28:34 PM EDT
[#2]
The Sheriff is the CLEO you go through.  Also, the new C&R applications have an actual hardcopy you complete and send to the Sheriff
Link Posted: 3/12/2006 4:27:36 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 3/12/2006 4:32:53 AM EDT
[#4]
NCPatrol,

I ordered and recieved F 5310.16 (F7CR) - Application for License (Collector of Curios and Relics) Under 18 U.S.C. Chapter 44, Firearms

From http://www.atf.gov/dcof/index.htm