Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/12/2004 1:53:31 PM EDT
The wife and I are beginning to plan our move from Cincinnati to happen in two to four years.

She has heard some good things about the Wilmington area and in conducting preliminary research, it appears to be a nice, affordable area.

She's a Pharmacy Technician and I am a Network Engineer.

We have a grown daughter who should be finishing her degree in 18-24 months so it's up in the air as to whether she would be accompanying us or not.

What can you guys tell me about the area?  Any other recommendations in the Carolinas?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 9/12/2004 2:46:31 PM EDT
[#1]
Went to school for 2 yrs there(UNCW).
Loved it,wished I had stayed.
Lots of history there.
I havn't been down in years.
GLOCK-23
Link Posted: 9/13/2004 5:23:55 PM EDT
[#2]
Graduated from UNCW in 2002 (Go Seahawks!)
Spent 12 years living there  (Every single hurricane that went through there!)
Loved it and wish I had never left

Prospect of making a decent living: 10-15%

Those that make the money there are in one of few industries:  real estate,  food service,  or tourism.  Even then, if you're not the person that owns the business chances are you'll be working for peanuts for them.

Don't get me wrong.  I love the town and miss it dearly.  I plan on heading back one day, but that's after I've made some money, 'cause unless you're in one of those particular businesses, chances are you'll be struggling.