Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/2/2009 9:40:05 AM EDT
I am thinking about getting a motorcycle. For all intents and purposes I'm a NOOB. I have rode, but it's been a few years. As much as I want a Harley, I cannot(and will not) justify the cost. SO, here are my questions:

- Since I am relatively new, should I lay up, and buy a 750cc. the plan is to start with a Jap cruiser, and move into a Harley, that way , if it doesn't work out, I'm not gonna be broke over it.
- Also part of the plan is, get proficient in riding, then let my wife have said bike, when I buy a Harley(Later).
- I have been pricing out the 750cc's and up, but CI wise, a 900cc is equivalent to 54CI, which seems rather anemic. I will ride with others(all Harleys) and I want to be able to keep up(or beat em)
- This is a strict matter of opinion, but which Jap cruiser is best? I really like the Vulcans, but I am looking for reliability, and of course...Stamina.

The Harley argument is out. I have 3 kids that have prority, so i am on a Budget, plus, I live in the country, and may find that it sucks, and sell out, Now the Down side is, I'm not getting any younger(or richer it appears) So i am liquidating a few select guns(or trading) SO, if anyone herhas a bike they want to get rid of...PM me.
Link Posted: 8/2/2009 9:59:19 AM EDT
[#1]
I will ride with others(all Harleys) and I want to be able to keep up(or beat em)

Ridin with Harley guys is not a keep up or beat in our group
Yes, some of them are beefed up but comparing speed and ridin distance with jap bikes and harleys are 2 complete different views
most Harleys are a heavier bike for highway riding unless you stay with Dyna's and them they make a good street anf road bike

Link Posted: 8/2/2009 10:06:42 AM EDT
[#2]
Normally a "beat em" isn't an issue, but I know it will happen sooner or later(alpha male syndrome runs rampant w/ my friends and I )