Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/7/2007 8:53:17 PM EDT
What are the laws/rules about carrying in your home or on your property?  My little brother just turned 21 and he asked me this question.  Obviously he isn't eligible for his CCW for 2 years and I didn't know the answer.

Please advise.

Grove
Link Posted: 10/7/2007 8:58:23 PM EDT
[#1]
ASAIK, you can carry whatever and however you want inside your home.  Now that castle doctrine passed, even better.

But, I am not a lawyer, so...
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 4:55:11 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 5:46:54 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
You're good to go in your home and car.

I know I've asked this before but my memory is bad...

I can carry a loaded gun say...in my center console?  Or maybe on my lap?

Is there a specific law one could quote in case they got hassled by an LEO about it?
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 6:01:22 AM EDT
[#4]
What about working outside in the yard?
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 6:28:39 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
What about working outside in the yard?

On your private property you can carry whenever, however.
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 7:55:55 AM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 8:01:29 AM EDT
[#7]
I carry around the house and when I'm doing yardwork outside. The law states you can carry on your property or property you are in control of.  As long as you are 21 and over you may also carry a concealable firearm in the passenger compartment of your vehichle, but check local laws as well because they can limit the carrying in your vehichle.
Still waiting to get some time to take my CCW course.

(1) Carries concealed upon or about his or her person a knife, a firearm, a blackjack or any other weapon readily capable of lethal use