Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/7/2007 3:43:58 PM EDT
ISP was out in force today and I saw more than usual on my trip back to southern IN from northern IN.  I have not yet interacted with ISP since I have started CCW.  My interactions with my local PD have been good.  I am a careful driver and do not speed, but all the ISP folk made me wonder.

Any general opinions on ISP and CCW, say during traffic stops?
Link Posted: 10/7/2007 5:25:58 PM EDT
[#1]
I know several ISP Troopers, and all are very professional. The few that I know are gun enthusiasts and they understand that there are plenty of CCW'ers out there. After all, ISP is the agency that issues the licenses.

YMMV: My experience is with the 4 or 5 Troopers that I know, there are hundreds of them but I'm sure others can chime in w/ their experiences.
Link Posted: 10/7/2007 6:30:02 PM EDT
[#2]
IME rcoers is absolutely right. The higher up the food chain, usually the more professional they are.

No offense meant to small town cops, but I live in what used to be a smaller town and next to me are towns with just a "constable" so I do deal with them. And I have a few family members that are deputies, and friends that are IPD. A close friend of the family was a former ISP "Director" or whatever his title was, he was the top dog.

The small towns then up to the city cops its a 50/50 at best dealing with an officer that exercises common sense in the extreme situations. Again, no offense, just my take. They are also usually the less expierenced too. Our County sheriffs (Morgan) are pretty good and easy to deal with, and most are into and have a good general gun knowledge.