Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/11/2012 12:02:53 PM EDT
I need some assistance. I am new to the AR world, I want a rifle that can shoot 200 yards or better, but can be used at home for home defense as well. I have looked into Sig, Stag, Daniel Defense and Colt. Recommendations for a good AR platform would be appreciated. Thank you.
Link Posted: 6/11/2012 12:18:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Build your own.  If you build it and then go out and shoot the piss out of it, then you'll understand it AND you can trust your life to it.
Link Posted: 6/11/2012 12:57:06 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:

Build your own.  If you build it and then go out and shoot the piss out of it, then you'll understand it AND you can trust your life to it.

Uh, the gentleman quoted in the above post failed to mention the risks, ie, addiction, shooting more than the budget allows, etc.

However, he's right.  
Link Posted: 6/11/2012 1:36:58 PM EDT
[#3]
Personally?  They are all good choices, and the bottom line is price.  Is a $700 AR better than a $1000 one?  Often the only difference is finish and street credibility.  

Colts can be found for $980 if you shop aggressively.  You can always add little enhancements later to increase reliability of some of the "lesser ones" if need be.  

I like DPMS for the price, unusual accuracy, and reliability.  

The money you save SHOULD be invested in good mags and ammo and practice.

Flame suit on, and I pay attention, but and I don't think anyone is making a bad AR now-there's only "better" ones.
Link Posted: 6/11/2012 3:36:47 PM EDT
[#4]