Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/27/2006 12:44:32 PM EDT
I'm new to this.  Do you have to own your own gun or can you "rent a gun"?

Do they provide ear protection?

How much does it cost on average for how much time?

Thanks for your help.

Link Posted: 10/27/2006 8:19:34 AM EDT
[#1]
Gonna have to call your local one and ask.. All are different.

And yes, it is my hobby. Just like someone who collects coins, builds models or works on cars..
Link Posted: 10/27/2006 8:23:40 AM EDT
[#2]
depends on the range. i know by me, if your a member you can go as many times as you like per year. as for renting guns, all are different. some of the leagues at my club have loaner rifles, and they don't charge at all for the service (for members which is about 50 dollars per year) for non members there may be a nominal fee to help insure the rifle will not be stolen.

ear protection they have, but again all ranges are different.

so basically if you went to my club in Upstate NY you could go shoot for about 10 bucks plus the cost of ammo (another 10-20) and you'd get to shoot a pretty nice AR-15. my club is exceptionally generous though, and i am unfortunatly not familiar with any in WI.

i hope i gave you a start point though.

if your very new to firearms, you might consider a safety course at your local range first.
Link Posted: 10/27/2006 8:25:25 AM EDT
[#3]
My local indoor range rents guns, and they also have "eyes -n- ears" if you need them.

Like the poster earlier said, call the ranges in your area and see what they offer.
Link Posted: 10/27/2006 8:45:10 AM EDT
[#4]
Range time costs depend a lot on where you live as well.  When I lived in San Antonio I had 6 great ranges within 15-20 minutes, and most of them cost either $10 for the whole day or $3/gun or so, depending on whether they charged per day or per gun.  Memberships also make it a lot cheaper.