Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/13/2005 8:11:57 PM EDT
    Hey there, I have been lurking for almost a year now.  Since then have bought a RRA 20in A2 (love it) and I'm looking into getting a handgun... mainly for plinking, targets, etc. but also for CCW if it ever goes through.
    I'm a relative newbie (hit the range once or twice a year with a revolver in the past), looking into a Glock 19 or ???.  My wife is OK with me taking a class, even if its a few day ordeal.  Do you guys have any recommendations or warnings about any courses or programs in the Wisconsin area?  (Besides the standard buy a bunch of ammo and start practicing).   I have been looking at Lethal Force Institute, Defensive Edge, etc.  (Will miss DE course this weekend).  I'm looking for a practical course that includes a lot of range time, but the LFI lectures sound valuable too.  Any experience, insight, or BS is welcomed.

Thanks
Link Posted: 7/14/2005 4:01:05 AM EDT
[#1]
Well i haven't taken any LFI course, but the lectures are worth it from what I hear. They cover a lto of things like when use of force is ok when it's not and things like that. They get into the legal aspects as well from what I hear. As far as price for what you get ya can't beat DETC. A couple of us have taken the Carbine 1/2 twice and walked away from both classes having learned something. Ya work for it though. By the end of day one yer tired and sore, byt the end of day two yer even more tired and sore, I don't know about the rest of the crew but usually by the end of day two, I'm ready to go for a day 3 regardless of how sore I am.
Link Posted: 7/14/2005 5:54:47 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 7/14/2005 9:42:51 AM EDT
[#3]