Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/26/2004 10:30:54 PM EDT
Anyone know of a good cheep place in town that can setup an LLC properly to deal with class 3 toys here in Tucson?

I want to make sure it's done right, also was thinking LLC was the way to go since it offers the "owners" more protection over a standard corp. (well that's my understanding anyways)

The reason I want to go this route is that if ever anything happens to me my father would be able to take ownership of any class 3 items in the company, as he would be a officer in the company.  Also, he'd be able to take the "toys" out on his own without any issues.
Link Posted: 10/27/2004 6:06:32 AM EDT
[#1]
I've gone through this process- I'll tell you what I did and how I did it.

I AM NOT A LAWYER AND MY WORDS WILL NOT HOLD UP IN COURT.

1.  I did it myself.  It took me 30 minutes to fill out the LLC paperwork.  This saved me $300-$500.  I AM NOT A LAWYER AND MY WORDS WILL NOT HOLD UP IN COURT.

2.  A LLC and an incorporation have different requirements.  Both protest your assets in the event of a lawsuit, but you're not doing business-- this is for NFA.  So the lawsuit protection isn't all that necessary.  Next point- cost to set up and maintain.  The incorporation is less expensive to set up than the LLC but it requires yearly filings and yearly fees to keep it alive.  The LLC is more expensive in the front but doesn't have yearly filings and yearly fees.  Thus, I went with the LLC.  I AM NOT A LAWYER AND MY WORDS WILL NOT HOLD UP IN COURT.

3.  You'll need to get your entity an EIN to handle the NFA excise tax.  I AM NOT A LAWYER AND MY WORDS WILL NOT HOLD UP IN COURT.

4.  You can have more owners with a incorporation than a LLC.  If you want to be able to legalize multiple users, the incorporation has definite benefits here.  I AM NOT A LAWYER AND MY WORDS WILL NOT HOLD UP IN COURT.