Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Hometown » Ohio
Posted: 8/5/2005 4:26:27 PM EDT
I'm an NRA certified instructor for the Basic Pistol course, and I'm running a free class on August 11 and 12 in Twinsburg, Ohio (halfway between Cleveland and Akron). This class fulfills the requirements for obtaining a concealed handgun license in Ohio. The law requires the class consist of 10 hours of class time and 2 hours of range time, so the class will meet on Aug 11 and 12 from 6:00 PM to 11:00 PM and then in small groups for 2 hours of range time over the following weekend or two. I try hard to schedule the range times at mutually convenient times and to keep the groups at the range to 2-3 students.

The Basic Pistol course concentrates on safety, principles of operation, and rudimentary marksmanship. There isn't time for much elaboration of pistol usage that is specific to self-defense. Specific self-defense training is usually covered in more advanced courses. The goal of the basic pistol course is more prevention of firearms-related accidents than winning gunfights. Of course, the class does empower students to follow the first rule of gunfights (bring a gun).

Class size is limited to 10 students, so try and email soon if you would like to attend, and I'll reserve your spot and let you know the precise location in Twinsburg.

Michael Courtney

Link Posted: 8/5/2005 7:34:20 PM EDT
[#1]
A free class is too good to be true.  The high cost of entry is what's kept me from persuing CCW.  And Twinsburg is close by (Sagamore Hills here).  Michael, what do you get out of it?  
Link Posted: 8/6/2005 2:49:58 AM EDT
[#2]
Offering the course for free is just another expression of my belief in the importance of RKBA.

I believe that the number of armed citizens and CHL holders is important to maintaining our rights.

Michael Courtney
Link Posted: 8/6/2005 5:53:23 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted: