Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/5/2006 4:52:47 PM EDT

Hello- I'm new to the G3 / 91 platform and have a quick question-

I recently got a PTR-91 and there is a LOT of 'play' in the mag well.  When a mag is locked in the mag well it will rock to the right almost 8mm .  That may not sound like a lot but it is very disconcerting.

Is this common or normal?

Just does not feel very solid.  This is a brand new gun.  Almost seems like the right side of the mag well was mis-welded.  

I have contacted JDL but haven't talked to a tech in person yet.  Hope to tomorrow.

Thanks advance for the help.  I'm looking forward to getting this cleared up because otherwise the fit in finish are very impressive.

Link Posted: 1/5/2006 6:54:53 PM EDT
[#1]
The aluminum mags in my PTR have slight play, but the steel mags are tight.  Do you have a set of calipers so that you can measure the opening of the mag well with?  Is that where you think the play is?  If you can measure the opening and let me know exactly where and how you measured, I'll check mine for comparison.  Hope this helps-ARKAR
Link Posted: 1/6/2006 5:54:46 AM EDT
[#2]
And surely that 8mm movement figure was taken at the bottom of the 20rd magazine, right?  Not at the top, right?
Link Posted: 1/6/2006 6:14:37 AM EDT
[#3]

Yes- ~8mm of play at the bottom.

I wonder how much more secure the steel 20 rounders would lock in.  I have a bunch of alloys and they are all similar- very loose and wiggly.

Still haven't talked to a tech yet- waiting for them to call...

Link Posted: 1/6/2006 6:28:11 AM EDT
[#4]
I doubt you'll find much, if any, difference in the fit of steel vs aluminum mags.
Link Posted: 1/6/2006 6:37:13 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
I doubt you'll find much, if any, difference in the fit of steel vs aluminum mags.