Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/16/2009 5:13:07 AM EDT
Hey guys, I'm new to the FAL world...

What's the difference between a DSA SA-58 and an STG-58?  is the huge price premium on the SA-58 justified?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 12/16/2009 5:56:06 AM EDT
[#1]
SA58:
All new parts (supposedly)
Aluminum lower
Belgian style flash hider
fiberglass handguards
Lifetime warranty

STG58
Some surplus parts (very good to excellent milspec quality)
Steel lower
Austrian style flash hider (rifle)
Steyr short flash hider (carbines)
Steel handguards (although I heard DSA is putting fiberglass handguards on new STGs)
One year warranty

Older production STG's also had Steyr hammer forged barrels that were considered top notch.

I would recommend getting the STG and switching out for the aluminum lower and fiberglass handguards if you like them better. You'll still come out cheaper.
Link Posted: 12/16/2009 7:49:49 AM EDT
[#2]
Thanks, that helps a lot!  
Link Posted: 12/16/2009 10:27:50 AM EDT
[#3]
can u order a stg-58 with the alloy lower or do u have to do it? is it hard? thanks,gonnaorder an stg asap baes on this anwer
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 5:36:53 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
can u order a stg-58 with the alloy lower or do u have to do it? is it hard? thanks,gonnaorder an stg asap baes on this anwer

English please.  
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 9:38:17 AM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
Quoted:

English please.  

wow, thats all you have to say?
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 9:29:56 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
Quoted:

English please.  

Translated

Is one able to order a STG-58 that already has a aluminum lower or will it have to be done separately? Is it very difficult to change out? Thank you, I am going to order a STG-58 ASAP  on your reply.
Link Posted: 12/17/2009 10:56:29 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:
Quoted:
Quoted:

English please.  

Harder to do than assembling a stripped AR-15 lower, about as bad as building an AK kit on a 100% receiver.