Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/6/2006 9:41:00 AM EDT
I am in the final stages of decision making over the purchase of a .308/7.62 rifle, and leaning towards a DS Arms 18" Para Congo.  I've also put some time into research and evaluation of an AR-10.  The AR-10, being more readily available/common is the weapon I've put some actual hands-on range evaluation into - I have not located anyone in my area who had a DS Arms or other FAL they were willing to loan out...

As far as gas-operated weapons go, I have lots of AR-15 experience, as well as the indirect/ARGO gas-operated Benelli M4 shotgun.  I understand the indirect, short-stroke/vent to atmosphere operation of the FAL, which is largely appealing - especially for this class of weapon over the Stoner system in an AR-type rifle.

So, while I'm asking a group with probable bias towards the FAL... given price was not your concern, and you wanted long-term reliability, reasonable accuracy, and serviceability out of a .308/7.62 weapon would you choose the FAL over an AR-10?
Link Posted: 2/6/2006 11:26:46 AM EDT
[#1]
FAL is  more reliable as a whole. That being said I own an AR-10T that has never had a malfunction. Shooting the same amount of rounds in the same conditions I just dont see how an AR10 could keep up. This is all  things being equal. I would like to see the new mags for the AR10that dont have the plunger.
Link Posted: 2/6/2006 12:47:33 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
I am in the final stages of decision making over the purchase of a .308/7.62 rifle, and leaning towards a DS Arms 18" Para Congo.  I've also put some time into research and evaluation of an AR-10.  The AR-10, being more readily available/common is the weapon I've put some actual hands-on range evaluation into - I have not located anyone in my area who had a DS Arms or other FAL they were willing to loan out...