Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/23/2005 5:49:09 PM EDT
I've worked out a trade for and AR upper that I'd thought about unloading for soemtime now.  The trade is for a 5 year old CAI FAL "R1A1Sporter" built on a Hesse receiver.  I've confirmed with the seller that it has the widow's peak feed ramps and not the dredded unibrow.  He says he's put close to 300 rounds through the gun over the last five years (he bought it from CAI) with only a few ftf.  Monetarliy I'm OK with the trade, but as I'm new to FAL's, you guys have made me paranoid as hell about the Hesse and CAI names.  What's your thoughts, should I be OK with this blaster, or am I getting ready to make a big mistake?  By the way, the seller has been an ARF member for over 3 years and has over 400 post.  He's also given me a three day trial period to see if the rifle is what I want.  Eventhough the masses think this gun to be a piece of shit, I'm think I'm gonna give it a go!  Comments please.
Link Posted: 8/23/2005 6:16:39 PM EDT
[#1]
Hesse... (1)

CAI  (2)

That's 2 strikes against you.
Save your $$ for a DSA.

Link Posted: 8/23/2005 7:23:17 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 8/23/2005 7:24:54 PM EDT
[#3]
I had one of those guns, and I wish I had never traded it - Foolisly, I traded my Hesse in toward a DSA thinking I was upgrading... I am still tempted to buy it back.   Don't worry about the equipment snobs,  FAL's are second only to AK's in reliability.   Some people have had bad luck with Hesse and CAI, but they are not universally bad.   I say do the deal, and if you like the platform and want something better you can always trade up to a DSA or whatnot later..
Link Posted: 8/23/2005 8:21:51 PM EDT
[#4]
I traded a $250 .38 spl for a CAI FAL.  I didn't really know a whole lot about the gun.  I will tell you that it took a $200 trip to the gunsmith just to make it function.

Ok so I had the barrel cut and a compensator put on too...