Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/11/2005 9:46:02 AM EDT
Anyone have a write-up on how to install an EBR from sight from Smith Enterprises? I'm a noob to the M1A, and I don't want to screw it up. I like to do as much work as I can to my rifles, without needing a 'smith, it helps me learn them better.
Link Posted: 9/11/2005 1:05:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Use the gas nut wrench to remove the FS, the gas plug nut, then unscrews the gas lock off the barrel.

When you go to put the new gas cyclinder combo sight back on the rifle, order a SS gas cylinder shim kit since any movement in the gas cyclinder is going to transfer into the front sight index (read tighten the gas cylinder).

Now the next question, what are you going to do to the old front sight dove tail on the FS (read you really need to grind it off or change out the FS to a non sighted unit).

P.S. unless your running a 16 barrel, you are going to lose a lot of sight plain focal distances (distance between the sights), so in regards to using this type of sight on a 22" barrel, it may not be the way to go.
Link Posted: 9/12/2005 3:42:00 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Use the gas nut wrench to remove the FS, the gas plug nut, then unscrews the gas lock off the barrel.

When you go to put the new gas cyclinder combo sight back on the rifle, order a SS gas cylinder shim kit since any movement in the gas cyclinder is going to transfer into the front sight index (read tighten the gas cylinder).

Now the next question, what are you going to do to the old front sight dove tail on the FS (read you really need to grind it off or change out the FS to a non sighted unit).

P.S. unless your running a 16 barrel, you are going to lose a lot of sight plain focal distances (distance between the sights), so in regards to using this type of sight on a 22" barrel, it may not be the way to go.

=================